top of page

Scottish Rite Degrees


A French trader, by the name of Estienne Morin, had been involved in high degree Masonry in Bordeaux since 1744 and, in 1747, founded an "Ecossais" lodge (Scots Masters Lodge) in the city of Le Cap Français, on the north coast of the French colony of Saint-Domingue (now Haiti)

Scottish Rite Degree Bodies

The Scottish Rite degrees are designed to explore different world philosophies, ancient religions, and systems of ethics. Through all of these avenues, people have tried to uncover certain universal mysteries. The Degrees of the Rite do not tell a Mason what he should think about these enigmas. Instead, they instruct him on what great thinkers and civilizations of the past have thought and create an ideal situation to gain insight. Agreeing with Socrates that the unexamined life is not worth living, the Rite supports this self-examination by providing reference points.​

Lodge of Perfection

These degrees, the 4th through 14th, are called Ineffable Degrees because their principal purpose is the investigation and contemplation of the ineffable name of Deity.

Chapter of Rose Croix

These degrees, the 15th through 18th, are very complex. They attempt to invest the candidate with a deeper understanding of Religion, Philosophy, Ethics, and History. 

Council of Kadosh

The degrees of the Council of Kadosh, 19th through 30th, are chivalric and philosophical, but also contain mystical material. The word "Kadosh" is a Hebrew word meaning "Holy".


The Consistory Degrees, 31st through 32nd, are very different from all the preceding degrees. They attempt to illustrate the creation of the ideal balance between the spiritual and the temporal.

bottom of page